Gert Jonke - Blinding Moment. Four Pieces about Composers

SKU 9781572411562

Writing from his background as a conservatory-trained musician and his lifelong passion Gert Jonke (born in 1946) has produced literary works in every genre involving the lives and works of various composers. The present volume includes four pieces in several forms -- a prose poem in tribute to Olivier Messiaen's great piano work "Catalogue d'oiseaux," which gives the title to the piece; a short story in the form of recollections by George Frederick Handel during the last hours of his life; a play (Gentle Rage) in which Ludwig van Beethoven figures as the alternately despondent and triumphant main character; and a novella whose point of departure is the bizarre, accidental shooting death of Anton Webern in 1945 (Blinding Moment).

  • Author: Gert Jonke
  • Title: Blinding Moment. Four Pieces about Composers
  • Binding: Trade Paperback
  • Translation by: Vincent Kling
  • Afterword by: Vincent Kling
  • Publishing House: Ariadne Press
  • Pages: 200
  • Illustrations: Cover Design: Beth A. Steffel
  • Date Published: 2009
  • ISBN: ISBN: 978-1-57241-156-2
Your Price $21.00

Customer Reviews

Write A Review